Some news items don’t need translation. That’s why DPJ launched the From the Wire series, so we could serve the destinations here by posting information and announcements – in their own words.

“Turning Brown Lots Green”
Roosevelt Row Annual Fundraiser

Join a huge group of local artists, activists, gardeners, elected officials, and committed residents for one of downtown’s biggest annual parties!

Even better, join the party to support one of downtown Phoenix’s most dynamic organizations — Roosevelt Row, CDC, and its burgeoning A.R.T.S. (Adaptive Reuse of Temporary Space) Program.

The program turns empty dirt lots into amazing places like the Valley of the Sunflowers, the A.R.T.S. Market held on First and Third Fridays, the annual Pie Social, and Food Truck Festivals. With your help we will be able to activate additional vacant land in 2012!

Buying a $30 ticket entitles you to two of Bliss/ReBar’s delicious drinks and a smorgasbord of appetizers. Buying a $100 ticket will send you home after the event with a signed, limited edition lithograph by acclaimed local artist James Angel (right). An amazing raffle and silent auction will help cap off the night.

If you go

Event: Turning Brown Lots Green!

Date:  Monday, May 21, 2012

Time: 5:30 – 8:30pm

LocationBliss/ReBAR, 901 N. 4th Street, Phoenix AZ 85004

TicketsBuy tickets online $30, $100 (includes lithograph) All tickets include two drinks and complimentary appetizers.

Contact:  602.772.0083

All proceeds will support the A.R.T.S.  (Adaptive Reuse of Temporary Space) Programs. Programs include:  A.R.T.S. Gardens, Market, Sculpture and Film.

Honorary Host Committee
Mayor Greg Stanton • Vice-Mayor Michael Johnson • Councilman Tom Simplot • Senator Steve Gallardo • Senator Robert Meza • Senator David Lujan • Senator Leah Landrum Taylor • Representative Anna Tovar • Representative Martin Quezada • Representative Chad Campbell • Representative Debbie McCune-Davis • Representative Lela Alston • Representative Katie Hobbs • Representative Catherine Miranda • Representative Ruben Gallego

Host Committee
James Angel • Rhonda Bannard • Kenny Barrett • Rhonda Boyle • Eileen Brill-Wagner • Amy Buchan • Dorina Bustamanta • Hillary Butler • Cassidy Campana • Laura Capello • Kendra Cea • Alaina Chabrier • Charles J. Coughlin • Cindy Dach • Jennifer Delgado • Greg Ensell • Greg Esser • Rusty Foley • Francesca Godi • Shannon Goodman • Murphy Hebert • Amy Heisler • Nancy Hill • Jasmine Jarrett •  Patty Johnson • Don Keuth • Aaron Kimberlin • Andrew Knochel • Kim Larkin • Carla Logan Wade • Kali Miller • Frank McCune • Jim McPherson • Joe Murphy • Benah Parker • Vermon Pierre • Chris Pruitt • Alison Rainey • Lawrence Robinson • Shannon and Chip Scutari • Marshall Shore • Alisa Lyons Sloan • Eric Sloan • Nicole Underwood • Toby Urvater • Amber Williams •
• Eileen Yazzie • Daniel Zawisha •

Brought to you by
COX, APS and Highground Public Affairs Consultants